Your Mood Board

5c33b196b9e44d5eefb4a603daf048fb

Visuals are powerful. 

It’s true that visual cues help us to remember and retrieve information better than words. Words are abstract and is therefore more difficult for the brain to retain. Visuals have a way of allowing us to remember by associating ideas and memories with imageries.

An example

Just the other day, I was going through my old pieces of writing and found written pieces I wrote for my campus newspaper. Not only did this intrigue me to write more and question why I stopped, but it reminded me of the enjoyment I got from writing. I wanted to have my pieces of writing somewhere to remind me, to inspire me… thus, The Mood Board.

All you need is a bulletin board that can be found at your local craft store. If you’re creative, you can spray paint it to rid yourself of the traditional bulletin board image. Along with your board, you will need… visuals.

This can be tokens of work that reminds you of your goals and dreams. It can be quotations if you’re a wordy person, or just pictures of places you’ve been, places you want to go to, things you’ve done and things you once day wish to accomplish.

It’s your board, design it to your own liking.

Plan how you will like to have it arranged and use thumb tacks to set  everything into place. I suggest you hang it somewhere you’ll see it everyday, such as your office or bedroom.

 

Leave a Reply

