The Elephant in the Room

cfc2755a72c09bc1094c8f606c1c5fb1

I remember when I was in elementary school and “Religion” was a class that was mandated by the curriculum at the time.

I loved it.

We were kids learning about faith and every week I’d come in with a book of mine sharing what I loved the most and leaving with knowledge of other faiths, other practices, and appreciated all of my classmates.

Now, that all seems like sunshine and rainbows.

Now that I’m in my 20’s the piercing topic of religion has been faced with so much controversy that I personally believe many people would rather not talk about it to avoid, well, the elephant in the room.

Religion is beautiful.

The misconception lies where people do not understand certain concepts or are uneducated about rituals, practices, and so forth. Because of this, the term “religion” is shackled to a stone age time of cavemen walking around dumbfounded.

My point? People believe religion is outdated or “made up”

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but really think about this the next time you hear a remark from a friend, on the news, or anyone for that matter.

It isn’t fair to base a persons religion on what you may think or what you may fear or what you don’t understand. If you have questions, research. If you have questions after that, kindly ask someone of that faith.

It really isn’t that big of a deal.

My faith puts me at ease and at peace. My faith is a guideline as to how I choose to live my life. My faith teaches me to be dignified, confident, and liberated (like many religious practices teach)

My faith teaches to not mock others for what they believe in

[Quran 29:46] Do not argue with the people of the scripture (Jews, Christians, and Muslims) except in the nicest possible manner – unless they transgress – and say, “We believe in what was revealed to us and in what was revealed to you, and our god and your god is one and the same; to Him we are submitters.”

It is easy to jump to conclusions and to judge others. However, I along with many others feel liberated to practice religion. It is just common sense to respect others.

At the end of the day, we are ALL living together in this world and we will all interact with people who have come from all walks of life and from diverse backgrounds.

Think first, educate yourself, and be kind.

We shouldn’t treat others differently because they have different beliefs.

The world would be a better place if we were all a little kinder to one another.

Leave a Reply

